Poetry

Pieces of You

I wanted the pieces of you,
But it was hard, you were whole,
I missed some pieces myself,
That’s why you complimented me.

I wanted that inner soul, one you gave,
But I guess it was too soon,
I feared I wouldn’t let go the grip,
And yes, you were all that mattered.

I wanted to sleep and have you beside me,
Imagined a sleep full of your presence,
Unfortunately I always woke up late after the dream.

It’s the pieces of you that made me whole,
It’s the pieces of you that made me walk,
It’s the pieces of you that brought joy back,
It’s those pieces, pieces that moulded our path.

I walk in your light, one you let shine on me,
I walk in your care, one you offered me,
I walk in your kindness, one you showed me,
What you see here, it’s what you found broken and mended.

Leave a comment